Ski touring and freeride impressions from the Caucasus and the Altai mountains

29th December 2020

With Flory Kern / Ski and mountain adventurer and Fritschi Swiss partner on ski and free tours for over 20 years.

Whether against the backdrop of the imposing 5,000-metre peaks in Swanetia, the lovely slopes of the Goderdzi pass in the Lesser Caucasus or the endless expanse of the Altai mountains in Siberia, all regions promise unforgettable skiing experiences.

To other adventures with Flory Kern

Ski tours in the Altai

Deep in the Altai mountains, in a hidden val-ley that can only be reached by the Trans Si-berian Railway, the best powder conditions prevail from the beginning of November. In the Altai, the ski touring season starts as early as October, and by December, there are regu-larly over three metres of snow.

Dreamlines in Swanetia

The highest mountains in Europe make a trip to this remote region a unique experi-ence. The Caucasus giants, over 5000 me-tres high, are always in view. While the fin-est powder can be found on the northern flanks of the 30-kilometre-long Laila moun-tain range, the southern sides below the landmark of Swanetia, the Ushba, are cov-ered with granular ice already at noon in mid-March.

Freetouring at the Goderdzi pass

During the winter months, westerly winds drive intense low pressure over the Black Sea. The main ridge of the Lesser Caucasus with the Goderdzi pass forms a wall with the over 3000 metres high mountains, so that all the lows get stuck here which results in heavy snowfall. In normal winters, the snow is 3-4 metres deep in January.

Flory Kern about the Tecton

For me the Tecton 12 ist the best choice because of the power transmission and safety similar to alpine bindings and the ease of operation.

More about Tecton

Skitouren- und Freeride-Impressionen aus dem Kaukasus und dem Altai-Gebirge

28. Dezember 2020

Mit Flory Kern / Ski-Berge-Abenteuer und Fritschi Swiss – Partner auf Ski- und Freetour seit über 20 Jahren.

Ob vor der Kulisse der imposanten Fünftausender in Swanetien, den lieblichen Hängen am Goderdzi-Pass im Kleinen Kaukasus oder in der unendlichen Weite des Altai-Gebirges in Sibirien, alle Regionen versprechen unvergessliche Skierlebnisse.

Zu weiteren Abenteuern mit Flory Kern

Skitouren im Altai

Tief im AltaiGebirge, in einem verborgenen Tal, welches nur mit der Transsibirischen Eisenbahn erreichbar ist, herrschen bereits ab Anfang November beste Powderbedingungen. Im Altai fängt die Skitourensaison schon im Oktober an und bereits im Dezember liegen regelmässig bereits über drei Meter Schnee.

Dreamlines in Swanetien

Die höchsten Berge Europas lassen eine Reise in diese abgelegene Region zu einem einmaligen Erlebnis werden. Die über 5000 Meter hohen Kaukasusriesen immer im Blick. Während an den Nordflanken der 30 Kilometer langen Laila-Kette feinster Powder liegt, firnen die Südseiten unterhalb des Wahrzeichens Swanetiens, dem Ushba, ab Mitte März schon um die Mittagszeit auf.

Freetouring am Goderdzi-Pass

Westwinde treiben hier in den Wintermonaten intensive Tiefausläufer über das Schwarze Meer heran. Der Hauptkamm des Kleinen Kaukasus mit dem Goderdzi-Pass bildet mit den über 3000 Meter hohen Bergen eine Mauer, somit bleiben alle Tiefs hier hängen und schneien sich kräftig ab. In normalen Wintern liegt die Schneehöhe im Januar bei 3-4 Metern.

Flory Kern über die Tecton

Wegen der aussergewöhnlichen Kraftübertragung, der Sicherheit analog Alpinbindungen und der einfachen Bedienung setze ich auf die Tecton von Fritschi.

Mehr zur Tecton